Relate

Every word stolen, every sentence rewritten, every idea borrowed. To call it plagiarism would be generous, to say the least. Plagiarism invokes a sense of intention; I was robbing places I had never realized I entered. Writings of my own started becoming a maze whereupon I brought to life new ideas, reached inward, explored tangents unknown, and let my guards down. Yet, somehow in the end, in the presence of the very house that I built, I would recognize the craftsmanship was not my own. I would see my influences not in the fine details, but in the very foundations of my writings. My mind would crack, my thoughts would fragment, my emotions would flail.

I still wonder what the authors, authors whom I respected, whom I hung on the every word, underlining, scribbling in the margins, engaging with their works, animating whole worlds they had constructed, what would they say if they saw their own works distorted in my writings. Fair Use? More than anything I wanted to reach inside myself and pull out something new. I imagined my hand reaching into my chest and pulling out a flurry of colors, ideas, worlds, characters, plotlines, emotions, definitions, philosophies, histories, myself… Instead, I find messages that read “return to sender” and “rental period ends after thirty days.”

That which is the objective is the subjective and the objective view of the subjective is the subjective looking inward upon itself and out of which is born a new perspective that reflectively turns into the objective which is the subjective and the objective view of the subjective is the subjective looking inward upon itself and out of which is born a new perspective that reflectively turns into the objective which…

 

Leave a Reply

