damn blood. (Mid-Day Quick Sketch of No Significance Whatsoever)

So I was taking a walk the other day and I seen a woman, a blind woman, pacing up and down the sidewalk. She seemed to be a bit frustrated as if she had dropped something and having a hard time finding it. So after watching her struggle for a while, I decide to go over and lend a helping hand, you know? “Hello, ma’am, can I be of any assistance? It seems to me that you have lost something. I would like to help you find it.” She replied: “Oh yes, you have lost something. You’ve lost… your wife.”

This all proved to be rather awkward. I did not have a wife. I replied, “I am sorry, I do not have one.” She frowned in disappointment.

“Well, all right then. Take this instead.” She pulled out of her purse a cd copy of the new Kendrick Lamar album. Even though I already had Apple music, I really did not want to let this poor blind woman down again. I took the cd. She walked down the street and, confused, I continued back home.

After some contemplation, I realized that she did not say “wife,” but instead said “life.” After making sense of the whole scene, I shrugged. My answer to her question remained the same even if I had heard her correctly.

Damn.

Leave a Reply

